Chi Wai Family
Martial Arts Centre

Unit T1 Kingsville Rd , Kingsditch Trading Estate , Cheltenham, Gloucestershire , GL51 9NZ.


Book a FREE Trial Lesson

Tel: 01242699080

Mobile: 07863339980

Reviews – A ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ School

Family Kickboxing – Amazing first lesson.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Aug 08, 2020

Honestly was such an unexpected positive experience, the relief I felt when i saw my son relaxing into it and enjoying it was just so lovely. It felt really nice doing this with him and being able to connect with him on a different level rather than standard’ Mum’ level. 

I think anyone that has experiences with anxiety/autism/sensory issues etc would be okay with you guys. Small things like the room not echoing, it not being overly brightly lit, not being too big or covered in mirrors – all of these things can set off conditions or trigger symptoms in children and adults alike. 

I think this is where he has struggled in the past. Classes have been in rented school halls or village halls where it is bright and loud and too open. You put 10-20 kids in a room like that and its no wonder it becomes over whelming. 

I found your venue to be spot on.

Family Kickboxing – 1st Lesson Experience.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Aug 06, 2020

I just wanted to drop you a quick email to thank you for making our first training experience a positive one, for us both. 

I don’t know if you put us in the spot you did on purpose (as I mentioned about James Sensory issues) but it was perfect. 

I think him not being able to see into the mirror really helped him focus, and not feel overwhelming. He loved the class and before we were half way through he asked if he could join. 

He had minimum issues last night, some floor touching and he had to remove his trainers halfway through but apart from that he was fine. Even his gloves were fine. (I was worried about this as sometimes he can’t be near or touch certain materials/textures). 

It’s such a battle for him mentally and myself emotionally to help him cope but with your encouragement and the set up/surroundings you have it really was near on perfect for us both. 

Even I left not hating the experience. It’s the first time I’ve put myself forward for something like this in years so was actually a very big deal to me too. 

If its at all possible could you make sure we have the same spot for each training session? Familiarity for James is a good thing and helps to increase his confidence.

Clare Hayton

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Jan 30, 2020
My daughter has been attending for 3 years and loves it, subsequently my son now goes as well. Welcoming family run academy with friendly and approachable instructors.

Danielle Gue

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Jul 2, 2019
My son has been coming to chi wai 7 months now and enjoys every session. Everyone is so friendly and have made us feel very welcome since day 1. It is great seeing my son enjoy it so much and he has really improved on sitting and listening with every lesson. I would highly recommend chi wai to anyone.

Anna Feher

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Jul 10, 2019
A fantastic place for my children to spend quality time after school in a disciplined yet friendly environment. They learn, they physically active and have been very happy in the classes. The instructors are amazing, they are friendly, patient and recognising individual needs of the children. Apart from the regular training sessions lots of fun events and incentives are taking place throughout the year. As a parent I am very impressed how well the centre is organised, clean and has a very positive vibe. Highly recommend!

Theresa Selley

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Aug 14, 2019
my son has come on leaps and bounds in the 3 months that he;s been attending, great team at Chi Wai xx Thanks All!
Shelley Jones
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
Fantastic community and top quality training. Huge encouragement for all skill range…. my 6 year old Daughter loves her Tiny Tiger Sessions!!!
Raj Sharma
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
Great family friendly set up. My son Santiago has been coming for 11 months now and made to feel welcome from the very first day. Emphasis on learning, discipline and fun all with the right balance. Would def recommend
Sally Davis
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
We would highly recommend Chi Wai Martial Arts & Fitness Centre. Alfie absolutely loves coming every week. He has a huge smile on his face throughout the entire lesson. He has met lots of new friends and has grown in confidence. There is a wonderful atmosphere here and it feels more like a community with all sorts of activities to get involved in.
Sarah Sawyers
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
Brilliant Family fun for all. Fantastic friends made x
Marc Stan
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
The best Kung fu school in Gloucestershire!!!
F B
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
Fantastic club! Great fun for my son and an excellent way to build confidence and gain new skills. Thank you!
Alistair Carder-Geddes
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
Brilliant
Kelly Owen
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
Four of our children have trained at Chi Wai and I’ve also done the fab fitness classes! Such a lovely family club that offers far more such as events and social days. Highly recommended!
Adam Farr
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
An excellent environment for kids and learn and develop both confidence and discipline! Would highly recommend!
Debra Siseman
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
My daughter has been doing Tiny Tigers for over a year and really enjoys it – highly recommended
hayley knight
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
We having been going to Chi Wai for some months now. It has been such a fantastic place place to take the family to learn key skills.
Mark Owen
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
We have been coming here with our children for many years. It’s a fantastic family run business and our children love it
Liam Odwyer
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
Fantastic place to train for different martial arts and fun for all the family
David Caulkin
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
Great place – really nice community feel. Awesome lessons and lots of extra activities to get involved in.
Eloise McGuffie
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
The best Kung Fu centre in Cheltenham…. No…. The world!!!!
Jo Martin
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
Right from the very first visit we were made to feel part of a family. Both of our son’s attend and have learnt respect, become more confident ,made some great friends are learning some new skills and keeping fit. They love coming every week such a fantastic Academy.
ryan charman
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 12, 2019
I’ve been doing chi wai since the age of 7, as sifu came to my junior school and done an after school club, and I’ve never looked back since as I am now a third degree black along with now being an instructor. Also from joining the club I have made so many new friends and meet amazing people.
Scott Hawker
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Apr 24, 2019
Great place to train and everyone gets on so well! 5/5
Chris Sandey
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Mar 30, 2019
Chi Wai has been great for my son and his progress so far has been amazing. He was incredibly shy at first but the team and other students have been encouraging and patient and he now has his white belt! The environment is welcoming and progress outside of the Dojo is just as important as inside which teaches the children the value and benefits of all round self discipline and hard work. To add to all that, I have now joined up too and also signed up to the interclub competition!
William Harris-Gill
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Mar 21, 2019
Great school to be at. The instructors make you feel really welcome and comfortable. Deff would recommend anyone to this school. Whether you’re a first timer or not.
Philip Knight
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Mar 12, 2019
Me, my son and my wife have been attending Chi Wai for some time now. They make you feel very welcome and it’s like and extension of your family. I have noticed such a amazing change in my son since being there and would recommend to anyone.
Georgina May
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Feb 23, 2019
My son has been attending for a year and a half and has grown so much in confidence, he has learnt so much! He’s now on his sixth belt! All the instructors are all so lovely and welcoming it’s basically our second home now! 🙂 He has made some lovely friends. It’s much more than training” everything is made fun, with extras added in.. Easter egg hunts, summer bash rounders, Helping charity’s, skittles nights, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, zombie wars and movie nights just to name a few!! Would recommend Chi Wai to anybody!
Craig Andrews
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Feb 23, 2019
Such a brilliant club. We have been coking for 5 years. Started off as something to get our daughter in to in order to channel and focus her. As she was full of energy. With the help of Sifu she is a completely different girl. It’s such a fun, friendly and family orientated place. It’s a credit to everyone involved with the club. And we couldn’t recommend it enough.
Em Rathbone
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Feb 7, 2019
My children have been attending classes here for 4 years and I am always happy with their progress. The teachers and assistants are approachable, kind and amazing with children. I can’t praise Chi Wai Kung Fu highly enough.
*-* Juki *-*
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 1, 2018
Fantastic place and instructors kids and adults learn respect and how to look after yourself also most important having fun doing kung fu
Jason Birch
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Mar 30, 2017
Popped in to see lee today, as he does vynal products aswell as teaching. This was to see if he was able to help me out , I explained what I wanted todo ,with no questions asked he was more than happy to help. Many thanks lee ,all fitted a treat. Jason birch😆
Rachel Lewis
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Oct 25, 2016
Been coming here for about 7 years feels like my second home a fantastic little club to be part of
Sam Pidgley
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Sep 16, 2016
Out of all of the fitness groups and kung fu classes iv been to over the years, Chi wai cheltenham happens to be the most friendly, welcoming, and just genuinely heart warming. With so much support from the instructors and even your peers, you cant go wrong. With such a family feel you have that sense of belonging. There’s no where else i would rather be. – Sam
Hamzah K
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Sep 10, 2016
I’ve been doing chi wai for just over 4 years now and it is amazing. Everyone is really nice and the instructors are amazing and patient. I recommend anyone to join this club! 🙂
David Riera
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Jun 15, 2016
I have been a member at the club for the last 8 years and I still learn something new from Sifu and the other dedicated team of instructors every time I attend. My son also attended for 4 years to reach his Jnr Black Belt and is still really proud of reaching his goal. It is a friendly and safe environment to learn martial arts and I highly recommend it.
Ian Tiller
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐May 7, 2016
Both my boys and I attend classes here. The for all fitness levels mantra really comes into play with me as I really am not what you would call fit. The kids love it, and always come home tired. All the staff and all of the SWAT members (students that have shown a willing and interest in helping others develop) are all really friendly and super patient no matter how challenging the student is. Could not give a higher recommendation to this establishment. If you’re not sure give them a call and arrange a trial and see what you think. Both me and my boys were all hooked after the first lesson.
Jamie Alcock
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Apr 28, 2016
Amazing!!
Emma Jefferies
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Apr 21, 2016
I’ve been training here for over six years now and love it, there’s a great, friendly atmosphere, everyone is very kind and helpful, I’ve learnt a lot from training here and feel it’s really helped me grow as a person, it’s a great experience for anyone of any age or ability
Steve O
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Mar 26, 2016
I originally took my son along to see how he felt about learning a martial art. He was 8 years old at the time. The smile on his face when he came out after his first lesson was magical. He is 14 now and training for his second degree black belt! Same story with my daughter. Chi Wai has not only been beneficial to their self confidence. Their self discipline and hence their schoolwork has also improved. I get great peace of mind as a parent knowing that my children are learning something that is proving invaluable to them and will stand them in good stead as they grow. The club is like a big family and we have made many good friends there. Come along and try it out.
Lisa Mason
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Apr 12, 2016
This is a great family club with a good balance of fun, skills and discipline. Sifu Lee and his team are highly skilled and are very patient with the kids. My son (10) has gained confidence and focus which has helped him at school and also given him confidence to try other sports. My daughter started as a Tiny Tiger when she was 5 and has now progressed to the little Dragons, she has definitely benefited from the discipline and structure which has helped to tame her wild side! They both love attending and enjoy working towards their belt graduations. They can both do impressive sit ups and press ups as well 🙂 . If you are considering a Martial Arts club, this is a great one to try! On a practical note it is also easy to find and has parking! Birthday Party Review! I’d highly recommend the birthday parties run at Chi Wai. My daughter’s 7th party was a dream – Sifu Lee had 16 kids (age 4 – 10) engaged and active for 1.5 hours. Amazing how they were all so attentive and focused on the activities! I just had to provide the food, drinks and cake :). Definitely the easiest party I have ever organised! I had a number of comments from parents that their children really enjoyed it. Perfect!
Jason Crutchley
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Oct 18, 2015
Excellent centre – both my kid and I attend it – him for Kung Fu and myself for Dacayana – and I have nothing but praise for the place. Sifu and his staff are friendly, welcoming and know how to make people feel at ease. Highly recommended.
John Swale
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Oct 18, 2015
A wonderful place for my grandson to attend. With coordination difficulties it has made such a difference. Though he tries he isn’t a naturally “sporty” child, he tries very hard and the confidence and friends he has made at Chi Wai has made such a difference to him. Sifu keeps discipline that is firm, fair and sometimes fun but my grandson has blossomed. Every time I attend the there are smiles and a good spirit and I am so glad we have found this treasure. If you or your kids want some fun and exercise and an opportunity to learn a Martial Art then give it a go. you will be welcomed and never look back.
Jaqueline Benitez de Birch
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Mar 17, 2016
Teachers are great and very patient. A great martial arts academy for anyone at any age and everyone is so friendly. I have been able to achieve what I did not know I could achieve.
Mel Charman
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Mar 12, 2016
My son and I both do chi wai and have been for many years, it’s a great place to learn self defence with a good family atmosphere, and with great instructors . Try it you might surprise yourself, I did and I love it .
Anthony Johnson
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Mar 9, 2016
Really great tutors and a positive friendly atmosphere. Good flexibility with the programme to with plenty of opportunities to attend training sessions. Family oriented as well with a good mix of martial arts and fitness. Thanks!!!
Pete Davey
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Mar 8, 2016
My son Freddie is 7 and has been going for three months and looks forward to every session. He talks about Chi Wai outside of classes and enjoys every minute he is there. Chi Wai is a great club full of energy fun and enthusiasm.
Emma Taylor
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Feb 29, 2016
My boys have attended Chi Wai from the age of 4 yrs. Its outstanding the level of care. Whats so fantastic is that Lee and his team understand the importance of supporting children about self defence the foundation of martial arts, and instilling respect, great mental attitude and outlook on life, not just concentrating on the physical martial art skill. They are all very friendly and welcoming.
Rachel Davis
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Oct 17, 2015
Such a happy environment and Sifu makes the class fun but children learn respect and discipline. It has helped my son gain confidence and meet new friends.
Toby Malik
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Oct 17, 2015
I’ve been a member since 2005 and it has been a real pleasure to watch the club grow. There is a great, positive atmosphere and a everyone is welcoming. Very family-friendly and no ‘yob’ element at all. Has given me excellent self defence skills as well as boosting my confidence. Thank you, Chi Wai!
 
Mike MacDonagh
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Oct 17, 2015
Amazing club for kids and adults teaching awesome kung fu. My kids, wife and myself all are members – learning and having fun for years. I can’t recommend Chi Wai highly enough regardless of your fitness level or age! Training at this club is more than just martial arts, it teaches integrity, respect, leadership, self-discipline, fitness and social skills.There’s a friendly family environment where everyone’s welcome.
 
Joel tohill
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Oct 17, 2015
great place to train in self defence great family environment for children to learn and get wonderful support for the black belts and high colour grades 5 stars

Fiona Hawker

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Nov 24, 2014

This is a great centre for the whole family to enjoy learning martial arts. Not only are the instructors amazing but everyone is friendly and welcoming. I joined 3.5 years ago with no previous experience of martial arts and all i can say is that i wish i had joined sooner – i can’t think of a better place to train in Cheltenham and i highly recommend you come along and try a session, you will be hooked!